No announcement yet.

Exempt salary mon-fri on call 24/7 forced to use vacation Minnesota Minnesota

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exempt salary mon-fri on call 24/7 forced to use vacation Minnesota Minnesota

I am a full time salary employee on call 24/7 non medical job. Regular hours are Monday through Friday 9 to 5. I get 1 scheduled weekend off a month. I'm planning a vacation in January which doesn't fall on my weekend off my employer won't let me switch weekends instead they are making me use 2 days of vacation on Saturday and Sunday. So that week I will work 3 days and use 4 days of vacation which is 56 hours. Is this legal? I am a human resource manager exempt employee.

I can give you half of an answer. The feds do not care about vacation even a little bit. There is no problem with what you describe on the federal law side of things. If you are paid your salary, and all salary docked complies with 29 CFR 541.602. The feds literally do not care what happens with your vacation. Not their issue.

I do not know enough about MN law to give a hard answer there. I suspect this is legal there too but I cannot say that for certain.

Not your question, but your employer is pond scum. This is a nasty policy. Also if you are the HR manager, can you not just change the policy? Guess not. This is very extreme but if handled correctly, such a policy I suspect could be done legally in most/all states. Not saying it should be done, but this is not the sort of thing state law generally addresses.
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

Thank you for your response.
      Yes they do a lot of things I do not agree with. I would love to change policies but of course it has to go through them first.
      They expect us to be on call for them 24/7 and I guess in return we get **** on.
      truly unfair.