Exempt minimum wage with lodging deduction from paycheck

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exempt minimum wage with lodging deduction from paycheck

To qualify for exemption under section 13(a)(1) of the FLSA, an exempt employee must earn the minimum salary amount as set forth in the regulations exclusive of board, lodging or other facilities

Question: Exempt employee's W-2 cash gross wages are $25,000.00. From these gross wages, taxes and $6,000.00 of rent for employer owned housing is withheld from their paycheck. Is this a violation of minimum wage law for an exempt employee when the rent deduction drops an employee's wages below the minimum wage of $23,660.00?

Thanks

Is the employee required to live there and pay the rent?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Employee is not required to live here (it is not a requirement of their job to live on-site) but if they choose they obviously must pay the rent.

Comment

So you are claiming that the employer is legally required to give free room and board to the employee on top of the salary even though the employer is not requiring the employee to live there? That no employer in their right mind would ever rent a dwelling to any employee? That your employer should instantly fire and evict you?

Interesting theory but I would be very surprised if federal DOL agreed with it. Your argument would be stronger if you referenced 29 CFR 541.606. FLSA 13(a)(1) does not actually mention "facilities". That would be in 541.606. But the obvious employer counter argument is the deduction is "for the convience fo the employee" (not the employer). And historically federal DOL restictions on deductions are specific to "for the convience of the employer" deductions only.
        "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".