This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FL Flat Rate Mechanic, Not Getting Flat Rate. Florida

Hi I have a question about Florida Flat Rate Mechanic laws. I have been working for a very large chain for 13 years now. About 2 years ago we went from 21% parts and labor to a Flat Rate system.

My new plan States: Chilton Flat Rate + Menu Items or $11.02hr. My Flat Rate is $26 and is based on how many ASE you have.

The problem I have recently is there not charging proper flat rate. For example if I do a timing belt and Chilton labor guide says it pays 3hrs, But they only put 1.5hrs of labor on the ticket! Some jobs they don;t even charge labor. This is getting out of hand I have been keeping records and in the last 4 months I have been shorted just over 3k.

I talked to the HR Dept of our company and they came and spoke with me today. They said they can charge what ever labor they want to no matter what my pay plan says, because they can change it at anytime and Flat Rate is comission.

I called the Payroll dept because I just could not believe what I was told. Payroll dept says they CANNOT! change labor times. WTF!!

Whats the point of having a pay plan if they don't have to honor it. Is there any laws against this in florida, or can they just pay me what ever they feel like as long as I get minimum wage?

I am not a FL expert, but I would be very surprised if there is such a thing as "Florida Flat Rate Mechanic laws". FL is pretty much a "just like federal" state and federal labor law (FLSA) is pretty much just minimum wage and labor law.