This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New equipment to be deducted from paycheck - Connecticut

I work as a private investigator in Connecticut. I recently received an email from the company notifying all of the investigators that new cameras have been purchased for us. These cameras will be deducted from our paychecks over two pay periods.

My question is, can the company do this without giving me any sort of option?

These cameras are not needed to effectively do the job. The company has reminded us that we will be able to keep the cameras which is irrevelant because if I quit the job, I won't have a use for it anymore.

Thanks,

JC

Chances are high this is illegal. At the very least, virtually all States prohibit an employer from making a payroll deduction without the employee's signed authorization. When they take the deduction, you should contact CT's Department of Labor and file a complaint.

Comment

Agreed. This strikes me as illegal as well. And since it is not something that would need to be the same (job uniforms, etc.), I'm uncomfortable on an additional level because I suspect they may be getting kickbacks for these purchases.

Comment

There's no evidence whatsoever to suspect the employer is taking kickbacks, RR. Seems like an incredible stretch to suggest that.

Comment

A stretch based on the information given? Definitely. Not the slightest argument there. And even if that was happening it wouldn’t change what the OP needed to do.