Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is It a "Split Shift", or is it "On Duty" time?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is It a "Split Shift", or is it "On Duty" time?

I am a bus driver in California, and I work a shift that my employer calls a "Split Shift", and they do not pay me for my time off (6 hours) in between my 2 daily shifts. My hourly wage is well over the minimum wage, so California's 1-hour of split-shift pay is not an issue. The issue is that all 6 hours of my "Off Time" in between my two 4-hour shifts is spent at an alternate work location, and I am not allowed to take my bus anywhere to go get lunch or to go home in it. I am required to park the bus in a designated parking lot, and I am provided transportation to a driver break-room 1 mile away, to spend my 6-hour unpaid break. I have not been told explicitly that I cannot leave the location, which is 35 miles from my workplace (and my car), but to leave would be very inconveninet. I would have to take a cab, or walk about a mile to the nearest food for sale. I am also not completely relieved of all work duties while I am on my 6-hour break in the out of town place. The dispatch office often calls my cell phone with questions, requests to go and move a bus, inspect a bus, etc. My co-workers and I all feel that this is not really a "split shift" if we do not return to our report-to-work location, and that we should be paid all the way through the shift since we are pretty much stranded at an alternate workplace for the 6-hour period. Is it a "split shift", or is it a "single shift" that we should be paid for every hour?

Is your employer governmental or private sector in nature? I am not actually sure if this is important since some of the cited CA cases are governmental in nature, but it is best to be sure.