This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Food pay Texas

I was wondering ..I work as a waitress in texas and get paid $2.13 per hour. My company has a new rule of taking 35 cents from each hour of our pay to pay for meal program. Is this legal if we dont eat at our job.
    Also is it legal for them to forbid us from bringing in food from home.
    Thanks.

I'll let Patty or DAW answer the first question.

It is absolutely legal for them to forbid you to bring in food from home. In fact, given that you are employed at an establishment where food is prepared and served, it might even been a requirement of the health department that they forbid outside food from coming in. (But it's legal even if the health department has nothing to do with it.)
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Are you saying money is deducted from your pay for a meal program but you
      are *not allowed* to take a meal break/eat a meal? (or do you take it upon
      yourself not to eat a meal)

Texas doesn't require meal breaks but the employer can allow/require them.
      Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment

food pay texas

Originally posted by Betty3 View Post
        Are you saying money is deducted from your pay for a meal program but you
        are *not allowed* to take a meal break/eat a meal? (or do you take it upon
        yourself not to eat a meal)

Texas doesn't require meal breaks but the employer can allow/require them.