Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Changing my employment from hourly to part time exempt. What say do I get? Texas

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Changing my employment from hourly to part time exempt. What say do I get? Texas

Hi all,

I work as a hospital chaplain. In the local church clergy are typically salaried exempt, whether full time or part time. However, in the hospital setting as a part time chaplain, I'm not sure what the legality is of making someone exempt. The other hospitals that I'm familiar with all have their part time chaplains paid hourly wages and they are not exempt, but I'm also not sure what the industry standard is for part time employment as a hospital chaplain.

I have worked for this organization for 3 years now. I started out as full time, salaried, exempt. In June, I requested to change to part time for family reasons. In our department, that translated to part time, hourly and this was the agreement between my director and myself. The HR paperwork also reflected that I would be working approximately 24 hours/week and that I would be paid hourly at a set $/hr.

My director informed me last month that she and HR are discussing making our part time staff (myself and 1 other chaplain) part time exempt instead of hourly. This would mean that our on call hours would essentially be unpaid. It also means that we would no longer receive shift differentials for working nights/weekends. My income would drop about $400/month if this change is made without adjusting my hourly wage before making me exempt.

What if any negotiations do I have a right to legally in this discussion? How do I find out if I qualify to be ruled as exempt of not?