This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No Paycheck in Texas Restaurant Texas

I've been working in a restaurant for the past 7 months and have never received a paycheck for the minimum $2.13 per hour. When I asked about this when I first started, I was told the owner withholds the money to pay our taxes for us. Is this legal?

If not, where can I report this? Thanks!

If they are doing it correctly, it's not only legal, it's required. Tips are taxable income and have to have taxes withheld on them just like any other income, even though you've already received them in cash. It's possible, the higher the tips cashed out are to the hours worked, that your tips could eat up all, or the majority of, your cash tips.

What would not be illegal is if the total of your cash wage and your tips, when divided by your hours worked for the workweek, was less than minimum wage. What would also be illegal is if the employer is withholding from YOUR pay to pay the employer share of Social Security and Medicare taxes.

Here's an example.

Worked 25 hours.
    Cash wage = $53.25
    Tips declared and cashed out = $250
    Taxable wage = $303.25
    Federal Income tax at Single-0 = $23.83
    Social Security tax = $18.80
    Medicare tax = $4.40
    Tips already received = $250.00
    Net pay = $6.22

If they are doing something other than like the example, please post back with details of a representative paycheck. You are at least getting a paystub or other statement detailing your earnings and taxes, yes? That is required by Texas law.
    Last edited by Pattymd; 11-17-2010, 02:00 AM.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I've never received a paystub of any sort.

On a normal day, if I work a double, I'll usually be there for 12 hours and walk away with $100 in tips. Would those withholding the entirety of the $2.13 cover taxes, etc?

Comment