This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some advice Missouri

I work as a night laundry attendant in a nursing home. The nursing home is filled to capacity + or - 1 or 2 residents. The question is, I am often working off the clock to get my work done due to not having enough hours to do my job. We cannot stay on the clock and finish or we get in trouble, but if we leave things we get into trouble too, and will have to finish it later. Tonight, for example, My shift starts at 7:30pm and ends at 12:00am, and I did not get out of there until 3:00 am We also have to take a half an hour break which I never get. I often work anywhere from 1 1/2-3 hours past my shift to get my work done. I have told my boss that there is no way to do it with-in these hours but she will not listen, so what should I do?

Thanks
    Last edited by angelinmo; 02-10-2010, 02:51 AM.

So, what exactly did the boss say?

You must be paid for all hours worked, including working through a scheduled meal period.

Unfortunately, Missouri does not have a Wage Collection Law, but if you call them as suggested here, they can give you some suggestions. What I can say is that you can either file an unpaid wage claim with the federal Dept. of Labor or file a civil claim (small claims might work if the amount is not overly larger) in the Missouri courts.
    http://www.dolir.mo.gov/ls/faq/faq_general.htm

In the meantime, until you can find another job where the employer complies with basic wage and hour laws, keep at home a record of your actual time worked, not with the employer's equipment or on the employer's time. And start trying to reconstruct to the best of your recollection the hours actually worked in the past (I'm assuming your time card/record at the employer does not accurately reflect your hours). This will bolster your claim when you do make it.