Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overpayment of Wages in CA California?

I'm an MBA candidate and was hired by a large company to work last summer as a paid intern. About 2 weeks after completing my 3 month internship, I was notified by phone from my superior that due to a discrepancy in my payroll exit date, I had been overpaid a week in wages - in the amount of $1300. I was mailed a notice by the company's claims department to re-pay the amount in full to avoid having my debt transferred to a collections agency. I spoke with a rep from the department and worked out a monthly payment plan which I have been paying for the past 9 months. Yesterday I was contacted by a collections agency rep who notified me that my account has been transferred over to her company and that I have 30 days to pay the remaining $550 otherwise my credit will show that I am paying off debt to a collections agency. I have since contacted my former employer to dispute its transfer of my debt over to the collections agency- seeing as how I was making monthly payments as agreed upon. I am awaiting a call from an account Supervisor at my former employer. My question is: Do (Did) I legally need to repay the extra wages that I was overpaid? If not, can any of the re-payment I've made so far be returned to me?

You're in an MBA program and you don't know it's unethical to keep an overpayment that was made to you in error? Yes, you have to repay it. You're lucky it wasn't a direct deposit, because in some states they can get the bank to reverse the deposit and take the money straight from your account.

I hope you're not planning on using them for a job reference.
    I am not an attorney, and don't play one on TV. Any information given is a description only and should be verified by your attorney.

Comment