This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Virginia Labor Laws- 11 hours per day Virginia

I am a mechanic at a Toyota dealership in Springfield, VA. The entire shop was just informed that our work schedules would be changing from an eight hour day to an 11 hour day. 8 AM to 7 PM, five days a week. Some teams will work 6 AM to 5 PM and 7 AM to 6 PM.

Are there any labor laws that pertain to Mechanics in a car dealership? There isn't a union or even a group of people to stand up for us. Management is telling us that it is "good for our customers"..... I won't get an increase in pay or any overtime because Mechanics are paid a flat rate (hours based on the type of job).

The car mechanics will also be required to work a Saturday once or twice a month; (every 3rd Sat) from 8 to 5 PM. That will mean a six day work week with at least 62 hours.

Pertaining to childcare issues; I drop my kids off at school in the morning. If I have to go in one hour earlier and get off later, I won't be able to do my job when it comes to my own kids. Is there a way that I can tell my employer that due to dropping the kids off in the AM, I can't get to work until a specific time?

Aside from working these long hours each week, I wonder how many customers want their cars serviced by mechanics that are worn out & exhausted due to an unrealistic work schedule. I am on my feet the entire time that I'm working.
    Last edited by MechVA; 10-25-2009, 07:34 PM. Reason: typing errors

There are laws that pertain to employees in general, but there are no laws that would prohibit the schedule your employer is proposing. As a mechanic at a dealership, the FLSA provides an exception for overtime pay, so that's likely the reason you won't be getting it.