This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paying for extended schooling for employee Wisconsin

We have a manufacturing company and we want to offer employees that show incentive the opportunity of taking courses at a tech school to further their knowledge into other areas of machining. We would pay for part of their education, providing they work for a specific period after their schooling. My question is, can we legally require this? Also, can we state that they have to pay back any monies extended to them for the education if they do not continue the course or quit the course before completing, or quit before the required time we set up after completion?

Sure you can. I would get the agreement in writing and have it drafted by a lawyer.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

thanks, we thought we'd have to get lawyer involved in this.

Comment

yes, but one consideration (that I think it is DAW that I learned this from) is to think of it and to set it up as an employer loan that is forgiven over time. Have all the same paperwork that you would for a regular loan. Otherwise, you may or may not ever be able to recover any monies from someone who terminated employment. Especially if the last paycheck is small.

another idea that we considered was to reimburse after a certain amount of time had passed or prorate the reimbursement over time. So the company is only out the dollars if the employee has stayed the length of time required. That is generally easier than a "clawback" of monies already paid.

Comment

You can reimburse the employee for education up to 5,250 in a calendar year with no tax impact. Same way you would do a qualified expense reimbursement.

Anything over 5,250 in a calendar year would be taxable wages if you choose to reimurse at a higher level.