This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How can I get on my wifes health ins? Wisconsin

Years ago when my wife went back to work my insurance paid for everything so I opted to not recieve medical ins. from her employer. She is on mine and hers. As the years have gone by my employers insurance has gotten worse and worse to the point that it is costing my a bundle. We have repeatedly asked her employer to add me to her coverage but they keep saying "No, there is no open enrollment". I don't think this is fair seeing as how other employees have thier spouses covered? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

How is there no open enrollment? Is this plan fully funded by the employer or using post-tax dollars?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

There should be an open enrolment, at least once a year when the policy is renewed. Also, if you have a life changing event they must allow you to enroll at that time.

I doubt that your insurance going up would qualify, but call the insurance carrier (number on the back of the card) directly and ask them.

If the insurance provided by your job cancelled you, your wife's company would allow you to sign up. Unless your wife’s company only offers coverage to the employee, but that rule would have to apply to everybody classified the in the same way as your wife.

Comment

Is an annual "Open Enrollment" the law? They don't do any kind of open enrollment? It's not a small company. 300-400 employees.

Comment

We only have 30 employees and offer open enrolment once a year. It may be the employer’s choice, but they have never told me about that option. But, I have never asked to exclude that option so it may be possible.