This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wisconsin Travel time reimbursement

I am an hourly paid Store Manager (not salary). I have to go to a required Manager meeting 180 miles away. I will get mileage reimbursement but my question is shouldn't I also get paid for my drive time? I have to drive over 3 hours each way to go to this required meeting.

Yes, as a driver, you should be paid for the travel time, less your normal commute time.

If you were travelling as a passenger, you would only get paid travel time during your normal work hours.
    Last edited by ScottB; 10-18-2006, 09:06 AM.
    Senior Professional in Human Resources and Certified Staffing Professional with over 30 years experience. Any advice provided is based upon experience and education, but does not constitute legal advice.

Comment

Is this a law or is it just common practice. I can't seem to find anything to bring to the attention of my company to make them pay me for this time. Thanks for your help.

Comment

Federal law (Fair Labor Standards Act).

http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/compliance/whd/whdfs22.htm

Travel Time: The principles which apply in determining whether time spent in travel is compensable time depends upon the kind of travel involved.

Home To Work Travel: An employee who travels from home before the regular workday and returns to his/her home at the end of the workday is engaged in ordinary home to work travel, which is not work time.

Home to Work on a Special One Day Assignment in Another City: An employee who regularly works at a fixed location in one city is given a special one day assignment in another city and returns home the same day. The time spent in traveling to and returning from the other city is work time, except that the employer may deduct/not count that time the employee would normally spend commuting to the regular work site.