This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Washington -Ind.Contractor

Hello! I am an independent contractor and have been for quite some time. Lately, the employment agency I've been working the contract through has started to impose certain issues that, as an independent contractor, I wasn't sure they could actually impose. For example, they are now stating that we must work 40 hours regardless and report those hours. I was under the assumption that rules like that couldn't necessarily be imposed. On the flip side, they have also made it very difficult to get overtime with many hoops to jump through to get things like that "approved." How much control does this agency have over the amount of hours I'm supposed to be working?

That's not true at all. Working the hours required by the company is not restricted only to employees.

However, are you sure you're an independent contractor? As in no taxes withheld? The agency therefore, is really just a broker? Who pays you?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I have been told repeatedly that I am an "independent contractor." The agency does indeed take taxes out of my paychecks. We are in a weird and confusing position because the agency says that we are not employees of theirs, but that we work on a "project basis" for another company. My pay comes from the agency.

Comment

The project basis I've been working on has been ongoing for years by the way. I first signed a contract with the agency maybe 5 years ago. I have never signed a new one though I do get raises on a fairly regular basis. As an "independent contractor" I've been told I do not get holiday pay. The agency helps contribute a certain amount towards health insurance and they give me vacation hours based on the amount of hours I work. This never changes.

Comment