Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Virginia - Good Cause to Quit? Virginia

Good Afternoon,

In December I was recruited by a small company in Virginia to be an Account Manager. I accepted the position because I felt this would be a wonderful opportunity to further my career. At the end of December, I left my job in Georgia, moved to Virginia for this job. Once I came on board it was decided that I would be the "Accounting Manager" and the lady that currently holds that position was moved into the position I was suppose to fill of "Account Manager". These two roles are VERY different and I do not have an accounting background. I expressed this to my supervisor who is also the owner of the company. He was not concerned and said I would catch on quickly. I still voiced my concerns and explained to him I have never had training as an accountant or worked as an accountant. I am very honest about my abilities in this area. I am not very good with math, spreadsheet formulas and I can't stand writing checks/paying bills (mine or someone else's). I also can not stand sitting at a desk all day. The position of Account Manager would of been a much better fit. My supervisor decided to continue with his decision and I was to be the Accounting Manager. I felt like I didn't have an option but to go with it. I just moved here and could not all of a sudden be with out a job. As time goes on, I am not doing so well in this position and have made a few mistakes but nothing detrimental to the business and none of the mistakes made it out the door into the customer's hand. Essentially, I caught my own mistakes. I have sat down with my supervisor and expressed to him on several occasions that I am not an Accountant. He would shrug it off and say something like, "well the company is not big enough for an actual accountant yet." Now about 3 weeks ago, I had to be out for 3 days due to a medical emergency, which is documented. During this time the previous lady that was i