This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Company closed pay Virginia

I am a mechanic in richmond, va. As most of you know we had a good deal of snow monday. I showed up to work on monday. I am a %100 commission paid employee. paid an hourly rate for work performed.

If the company was closed that day. I show up monday (early at that) clock in. then find there are no managers present and no way to do my job....

I am being denied pay for monday and the company was not even open for business. shouldnt this be just like a holiday?

I do not know if I am considered an exempt or non-exempt employee

We need to be careful about definitions here but it is almost certainly legally impossible for a mechanic to be paid on a 100% commission basis that ignores actual hours worked. To be certain we need to know exactly what type of mechanic and what the industry is. I can say that almost all mechanics must be paid at least minimum wage for all hours actually worked and most mechanics must be paid overtime for all hours worked past 40 in the workweek. This is black letter federal law that the employer cannot get around.

However, what you describe is no actual hours worked. You can correctly say that this is not your fault, but federal law does not care. Federal law is fine with saying "no hours worked (for any reason) means no hours paid". A very few states have something called "show up" or "reporting time" but I do not remember VA as being one of those few states. Still, your state is not my state, and I do not know your states rules.

A "mechanic" who actually works as a "mechanic" is not Exempt. A mechanic who supervises 2 or more full time people could be Exempt, not because they are a mechanic, but because they are a supervisor.
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment