This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need assistance with 15 break. Vermont

I work in the Hotel/Motel industry. I am a excellent worker , who happens to be a smoker. I work seven hours a day usually. My problem is that my boss will not allow me even five ( 5 ) minutes to go outside and smoke a cigarette. Is this legal and what about the 15 minute mandatory break required for all employees who work more than four ( 4 ) consecutive hours ? Please help me.........I am a female and my boss does not like females. What are the laws and my options ? Thank you to everyone who helps answer my question.
    YES.
    0.00%
    NO.
    100.00%
    NOT ENOUGH INFO.
    0.00%
    NOT SURE.
    0.00%

The poll is expired.

Is this legal Yes.

and what about the 15 minute mandatory break required for all employees who work more than four ( 4 ) consecutive hours ? There is no such law in VT, or any other state except Illinois.

No law in any state requires employers to give smoking breaks. Ever.

The law in Vermont requires that you be given "reasonable" time (reasonable is not defined) to eat and use the restroom. That is all that is required by law in your state.

Your options are to refrain from smoking while at work, or to find an employer that allows smoke breaks.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

CBG - aren't there "rest break" laws in CA, Colorado, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nevada, Oregon and Washington? At least some kind of breaks, according to this: http://www.dol.gov/esa/programs/whd/state/rest.htm

Comment

My understanding that those are 10 minute break states. IL is the only 15 minute break state (and my understanding is that is industry specific). Some states have 10 minute break rules. Many states have no break requirements at all.