This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Required to Work 4 x 10's Utah

I've been working a normal 9 to 5 job for 6 years now for a company that is based in California (but I work at a facility in Utah). They are floating the idea of changing everyone to a 4x10 hour shift schedule, instead of a 5 day work week. Obviously some people will prefer this shift, but I do not. Is it legal for them to require me to switch to a 4x10 schedule?

If that is not legal and I am fired for refusing to change to a 4x10 schedule (although obviously they can require me to work a different 5x8 schedule), would that be wrongful termination under Utah labor law (since we are a right to work state or whatever)?

Thanks.

Originally posted by bts View Post
    I've been working a normal 9 to 5 job for 6 years now for a company that is based in California (but I work at a facility in Utah). They are floating the idea of changing everyone to a 4x10 hour shift schedule, instead of a 5 day work week. Obviously some people will prefer this shift, but I do not. Is it legal for them to require me to switch to a 4x10 schedule?

If that is not legal and I am fired for refusing to change to a 4x10 schedule (although obviously they can require me to work a different 5x8 schedule), would that be wrongful termination under Utah labor law (since we are a right to work state or whatever)?

Thanks.
    First off, "right to work" just means you can't be required to join a union or pay union dues in order to get a job. There is also "at will employment."
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/At-will

Yes, it is legal for them to change your shift to 4 x 10 unless you have a binding employment contract or CBA to the contrary.

Yes, you can be legally fired for not working the required shift - it would not be a wrongful termination. You most likely would not get unemployment ins. if you were fired since you turned down available work.