This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Let Go" for expressing concern Re: criminal I worked with! Utah

I have been working at a small company for about 5 months and have recently been fired for expressing my concern/fear of working with a criminal (who is dating my boss) and who has made explicit sexual comments in my presence, which made me even feel more uncomfortable with my working situation and provoked me to look at public records regarding his background. I approached my employer a couple weeks ago regarding my concerns (and proof of his criminal background) and the next day (3 days before Christmas) I was "let go" and told that I was an excellent employee and that they would give a great reference to anyone who inquired. I said to my employer that I didn't want to start a job hunt for a job that I was only going to be able to keep for 6 months because of my pregnancy, she said "you should be able to find a job still, because you're not showing yet." I told her that she couldn't fire me for no reason and she told me that I'm not an employee and that I'm a contractor, so she could fire me at anytime. I told my employer that it's illegal to consider me a contractor and that when I was hired I was told that they would start deducting taxes from my paycheck at the beginning of the new year (their accountant had advised them that it would be best if they didn't start paying their employees through payroll until the beginning of the new year) and I agreed under those circumstances. When I mentioned this to my employer, she said that they were no longer going to change the circumstances and that she cannot afford the expenses of payroll, so she was going to continue to consider her employees "contractors". She again thanked me for all of my hard work, gave me a hug, and then I left (stunned)!