This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commission based wage reduction Utah

I am a Journeyman Plumber in Utah and had a question on how or weather or not my company can take wages out of my paycheck in certain situations.

1. We are required to wear a fulll uniform ihncluding shirt, pants, and shoes, for our company. We are required to go out and buy our own shoes, and they provide the shirt and pants from some uniform company that provides the uniforms, and also washes the dirty ones. We get charged for the uniforms weekly wether we need the uniforms washed or not. Is it legal for my company to take that money out of my paycheck for the uniforms?

2. Similar to the uniforms, we are provided a cell phone from work, for work. We get charged weekly for those cell phones too, even though we use them almost exclusively for work. (In my case I also call my wife at the end of the day to let her know I am coming home)