This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Various questions about retaliation and labor. Utah

I work as an assistant manager for a retail company (Corporate owned), 5 years, Couple of questions.

One, Is there any Utah or Federal law regulating the frequency of shifts? I was under the assumption that after a full shift, (Ten hours in my case, Closing at about 10:30pm) I am allowed 12 hours before being required to report to work again. I want to clarify that, (As I have been given 9-10 hours at times, which is a personal problem. (Sleep Deprivation, which aslo affects my work. Bad Cycle))

Also, recently, there was a discrepency in the store funds after I closed, (In charge) A certain amount was found missing the next morning. Now there are always two workers except during the morning, The opening manager is alone for 15-30 minutes. Closing, I was watched by the other employee for counting the funds. Opening manager was the one who found the discrepency. I don't think anything regarding theft is going on. But, when it came time to actualize the problem of the missing funds, I was the only one disciplined.

Along that same line, Because of all these reasons, and stress, and other personal matters, I am considering stepping down as managment. Now, this company is an "At-Will" Employer. I am worried they will either lower my wages, or even terminate me. Do they have right to do this? The company is somewhat in need of management, But I know they have ran with fewer management members then we currently have, (I was one of two for some time. Where as we currently have five.) I am somewhat dependant on the fulltime hours, And do not want to lose the job, hours, or wages.

Is there any preventative measures I can take?

If not, is there any claims I might have if they do decide to terminate me?

Thank you all for any help you might be able to provide.

EAX