This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• on call pay

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum. Anyway I work in the HVAC field and twice a month it is my turn to be on call for emergency service. Emergency service starts mon-fri after 6pm and Sat after 4pm and sunday anytime of day. My question is should I be getting paid for being on call and not actually working? I cannot have a beer, go to movies, do anything because if I get a call I must respond withing 1 hour and policy is that if I can have home owner wait til normal business hours then I do not have to go but if it cannot wait then I do have to go.

I doubt that having to respond to a call within one hour would "severely restrict" your activities enough to consider your on-call time compensable. No, you can't have a beer. But, with a cell phone/pager, you can go to the store, go to a movie, go to dinner, visit friends, etc.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

ok. I was just wondering.

Comment

no cell or pager

so what if you had no phone or pager?

Comment

Originally posted by damlam
          so what if you had no phone or pager?
          Your employer could require you to purchase one as a condition of employment. In most cases, the employer will provide an on-call phone or pager; but there is no law that specfically requires it. If you are employed under an enforeceable employment contract or collective bargaining agreement, the terms of said agreement may contain language explaining this responsibility.

Comment

Getting paged every 2 min.s