This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fired - need recourse help to get IU? Texas

I was fired from my job today due to "inefficient and careless performance of duties". I worked as a dispatcher for a local delivery company and screwed up a couple of deliveries, altho they were quickly fixed and the customer was fine with it.

I feel as if my boss made a mountain of a molehill and as if he was looking for a reason to get rid of me.

I was written up twice for this in February of this year, but I don't think I was able to perform my job duties properly and he knew this, but just let me stay in the position. This wasn't the original position I was hired on as - they "promoted" me to it. I was just doing office work when hired.

I had worked for the company for 2 years. The first 7 months was office work, the rest of the time was in the dispatch office.

I was wondering about these things I dealt with at my job and if any of it would help me in any way if I had to fight to get my UI benefits:

1. Working 50 hours a week on salary and also every two weekends as "on-call" - having to work an extra 4 hours. Not getting any "comp" time or over-time pay for it.

I was hourly when I first started there, and then moved into the dispatch office and then they switched me to salary - and I never signed any paperwork or got anything explaining any "exempt" or "non-exempt" type of status for it.

2. Not getting any lunch breaks since we were short-handed in the dispatch office.