Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can employer force employee to pay for damages incurred while working? Texas

Hello,

I'm a 25 year service technician at a dealership and I accidentally blew out a customer's tire while pulling the vehicle in my service bay. My employer says I have to pay for the tire. Is this true? It seems like damages incurred during the scope of my job should be the emplyers liability, or am I seeing this wrong?

If we were talking federal law only (FLSA), then the deduction would be legal as long as minimum wage or overtime rules were not violated. Under federal rules, this would be a "for the benefit of the employer" type of deduction.
    http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs16.pdf

However some states can and do have more restrictive rules. Your state is not my state, so hopefully another responder who knows the specifics if TX deduction rules (if any) can respond.
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

Texas payroll deduction law:
      Employers may not withhold or divert any part of an employee's wages unless the employer (1) is ordered to do so by a court, (2) is authorized to do so by state or federal law, or (3) has *written authorization* from the employee to deduct part of the wages for a lawful purpose. Contracts that permit or require deductions to pay union dues or assessments are void unless the employees provide written consent.
      Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment