This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confused about Salary

I work as a Deputy/Corrections Officer in a small county. I work a 48 hour work week at a salaried 1500 per month. I get paid once a month. I recieve a time sheet stating time worked in that month as well as vacation, sick, and comp time accrued. The time sheet is always the same for each month. They say I work only 171.5 hours each month and only get .5 hours of comp time each month. Even when I work over the 48 hours a week, I never recieve the proper comp time over my regular hours. Im confused as how these people calculate time. And unfortunately none of my co workers can figure it out either. If they are keeping a record of my time worked, why is it always short, and why do I never get the right amount of comp time?

You'll need to speak with your payroll person or union representative (if you have one). Police officers are not exempt from the overtime requirement of the FLSA, although you don't have to be paid overtime (or be offered comp time--your choice) unless you work over 171 hours in a 28-day period. But, you clearly do.

If you can't get satisfaction from the employer, you can contact the Texas Workforce Commission for further action you can take.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Well if you are working 48 hours a week minimum, and you work 4 weeks a month, that is 192 hours ... which is 21 hours more than they are putting on your time sheet.

I say either talk with someone about this at the texas workforce commision, and if nothing gets done about this, then either quit, or start working only 171.5 hours a month.

Comment

I recommend strongly against only working 171.5 hours a month. To not work when required can be seen as a termination offense.
        Not everything that makes you mad, sad or uncomfortable is legally actionable.