No announcement yet.

Employer failed to make payroll for three weeks, then terminated me Tennessee

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employer failed to make payroll for three weeks, then terminated me Tennessee

I live and work in Tennessee. Prior to this posting I had been employed as a subcontractor to a general contractor. I work in the remodeling industry. As their employee, I wore two hats. 1. Sales, cold calls to determine is customer was eligible for relief from insurance company. 2. Subcontractor, if there was any small job within a contract, myself and my crew would do the work on a customers home.

Payment would be per the following schedule. 1. Sales, 10% of the deposit check, and 50/50 split of the net profit. 2. Labor, determined by job. Some jobs were hourly, some were per job.

The problem.

I brought to the company a contract valued at $55,000. For this job I bid the labor at $25,500. My employees and myself worked on this job for 7 weeks straight, at the end of each week I would turn in payroll, a check would be issued and I would then make payroll to my guys. On the 8th week, when payroll was turned in, a check was issued for half the amount that I had turned in. On the 9th and 10th weeks there was no payroll paid at all. I complained to them that we could not continue unless the payroll was caught up. Nevertheless, we showed up to finish what remained on the following Monday. When we arrived, we had been locked out of the job.

Since that time, the job has been completed. Final pay from the customer has been remitted, and I received a bill from the company to pay for the final labor for the three days needed to complete the job. In addition to this bill there are several thousand dollars deductions from my payroll to satisfy their "needs" as a company.

Fro weeks 7, 8, and 9, the total bill for labor turned in was $6,119.95
    My commission on the job should have been $5769.31