Crazy Restaurant Questions Tennessee

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Crazy Restaurant Questions Tennessee

I hope someone notices this since nobody has posted sine July of '11. Anyway, I have a few questions and will try to sum it up quickly.
    I am an Executive Chef at a private non profit social club in TN. I am salaried exempt. I understand the laws pertaining to that payment category.

1. My hourly employee wants to work through his mandatory 30 minute break with obvious time on the clock. I would like to to let him with pay, is that legal? We are a hospitality business that does provide comp breaks on the clock, but I do not want to get in trouble for letting him work through it.

2. My wife really hates my schedule, surprise, is there any law state or federal that regulates long hours, (15-18) in any way?

Hope to hear from anyone with incite. Thanks

Das ist in der Doktor!

Originally posted by Chefahole View Post
    I hope someone notices this since nobody has posted sine July of '11. Anyway, I have a few questions and will try to sum it up quickly.
    I am an Executive Chef at a private non profit social club in TN. I am salaried exempt. I understand the laws pertaining to that payment category.

1. My hourly employee wants to work through his mandatory 30 minute break with obvious time on the clock. I would like to to let him with pay, is that legal?
    No.
    http://www.laborlawtalk.com/showthread.php?t=75834

We are a hospitality business that does provide comp breaks on the clock, but I do not want to get in trouble for letting him work through it.

2. My wife really hates my schedule, surprise, is there any law state or federal that regulates long hours, (15-18) in any way?
    No.
    Exempt or non-exempt, As a Chef, long hours come with the job. I would suggest a different line of work, or you could open your own restaurant and those 15 to 18 hour days will start to look pretty good.
    Or you could get a different wife.