This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• made to work 50 hrs Tennessee

i'm a mechanic who works on commission. my dealer is thinking of changing work hours from a required 40hr to a required 50 hrs a week, can they do this with or with out paying me for the extra 10hrs a week

Yes, they can change your schedule to require that you work 50 hours.

I'll let one of the payroll people address the pay schedule.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Yes, you can be required to work 50 hrs. a week - I'm not sure about the other part of your question - Patty or DAW should be along.
      Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment

Patty's along, but this is not my area of greatest expertise. I will set it up for DAW in the morning, though.

Do you work for an auto dealership?
        Are you talking about being paid on the "bill rate" method?
        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

This is not exactly rocket science, and I suspect that Patty knows the answer just fine.
          - There is a 100% chance that for each workweek that employer is required to pay the employee (at least) the greater of federal or state minimum wage (MW).