Vehicle compensation South Carolina South Carolina

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vehicle compensation South Carolina South Carolina

I have been working construction for over 14 years for the same company. I am a hourly employee and use my truck as a work Vehicle. Three years ago when the economy went south they stopped paying me compensation for that. My question is it legal for them to ask me togo from the shop to a jobsite, jobsite to jobsite, run errands elect? Im fine with going just to and from jobsite from home but all the extra mile im getting tired of and gas prices are not helping. So a second question is, if it is legal am i in my right to file unemployment if they stop working me as there threatening to do or fire me 4 refusing to use my truck for company stuff?

They absolutely may ask you to go from job site to job site, run errands etc. You may or may not, depending on specifics we do not have, have to be paid for some or all of the time you spend doing so but there is nothing illegal about asking you to do so and no requirement, either Federal or state, that you be paid additional compensation, even mileage, for using your personal vehicle.

You may ALWAYS file for unemployment. But the state has the only vote as to whether you'll get it or not. If you are fired because they have no work for you, you will almost certainly get it. (I say almost only because with unemployment there are no absolutes.) If you are fired for refusing to use your personal vehicle for work purposes, it's anyone's guess.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Das ist in der Doktor!

I'd have to agree with cbg, ya never know. Look at it this way at least ya have a job and when things pick up they might start compensating you again.
      Besides, what would you be doing if you didn't have a job?