This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rate pay Pennsylvania

When I was hired at my current job as a mechanic I was promised a good rate of pay and all the O/T that I wanted. My employer recently expressed that he wants all of the employees to start working off of commission only. Is it legal for him to take away my rate pay for 40 hrs and pay me only commission?

You must be paid, on average, at least minimum wage for all hours worked in the workweek, including those hours that you may be sitting and waiting for a repair job to work on. This isn't as much of a commission as what is known as "flag rate" pay. Or at least I'm assuming that's what you're talking about, i.e. Job X should take 1 hour and you get paid Y dollars for doing Job X, whether it takes you 15 minutes or 2 hours. Is that the pay structure you're talking about?

If you work in a dealership, there in an exception in the FLSA that permits the employer to not have to pay the premium portion of overtime (only the straight-time portion).
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Agreed with the above. Two quick examples.
      - Jan works at an auto dealer as a mechanic. This workweek she works 50 hours. Under federal rules, Jan must be paid at least $7.25./hr times 50 hours = $362.50. The employer can legally pay Jan more, but cannot pay Jan less under federal law. State law could be more favorable, but not my state (but is Patty's state).
      - Dean works at a garage as a mechanic. Dean does exactly the same work as Jan. This workweek he works 50 hours. Under federal law, Dean must be paid at least $7.25/hr for the first 40 hours worked, and at least $10.875/hr for the 10 hours of overtime, or $398.75 total. Again, state law can be more favorable.