This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is there a law for required uniforms? Pennsylvania

I am a registered nurse at a 360 bed hospital. I work in the ER. Currently my employer's uniform policy is quite vague, allowing us to wear just about any color and print of scrubs. We must pay for, provide and launder/maintain them ourselves. This policy has been in effect for several years. My employer is now trying to change the policy to require us to wear one solid color, no prints, and they are going to dictate the color - it will not be all white and could possibly be all black. Black is the suggested color by management

Are there any laws for PA that require an employer to provide a uniform allowance if they change the uniform policy? Are there any laws for PA that regulate uniforms at all? If my employer is dictating what color I have to wear and they may even dicate the brand that we purchase, are they required to give us a certain amount of time for the change over? I work 5 days/wk, sometimes more. I will need to obtain at least 5 sets of scrubs all at once for this change. I my employer required to give us a one time monetary allowance for us to purchase our initial sets? It is a huge monetary factor for myself and many others. Are there any laws that I can site for my employer?
    Last edited by lorirn74; 09-09-2009, 07:05 AM.

I would NOT want to be a patient at a hospital where everyone working there wore black. Looks like they're in premature mourning and I would wonder if it was me that they were prematurely mourning for. Yuck. Give me the cute colorful scrubs with animal prints anyday.
    I am not an attorney, and don't play one on TV. Any information given is a description only and should be verified by your attorney.

Comment

To answer your legal questions, no to all of them.
      Federal guidelines would apply.
      http://www.osha.gov/pls/epub/wageind...211/wh1428.pdf

I agree, though, black? In a hospital?