This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with Labor Laws Pennsylvania

I was a manager at a gas station. As I did the schedule, I scheduled myself off on a Monday for my child to have a minor surgical procedure done. I was contacted by my employee on location that the clerks that were to relieve her were not able to come in on this same day (the first quite with no notice and the other had been admitted to the local emergency room). After contacting several other stores to see if anyone could cover the shift (no one was able) I contacted my supervisor. She told me that I had to get to the store and that I had to cover the closing shift, dispite the fact that I had to open the following morning and had a sick child at home. I told her I was unable because of my child. She then proceeded to leave me a voicemail asking where I could turn in my store keys for her to pick up. The next morning I showed up for work at my normal time. I had expected her to fire me because that was the threat made the previous day, so I was not surprised to see my assistant manager already at the store. When the supervisor finally showed up (3 hours later) she refused to give me termination papers. She told me that I was undeserving of papers because I was the one that "could not do my job". What rights do I have here and what can I do about this situation?

Was your child's illness attributable to FMLA?

FMLA would apply if ALL of the following are true:

1.) You have worked for this employer 12 months or more
    2.) Your employer has no less than 50 employees within 75 miles of your location
    3.) In the last 12 months, you have worked no less than 1,250 hours
    4.) Your child is under the age of 18, or is over the age of 18 but is incapable of self-care, and his/her condition qualified as a "serious health condition" under the statute.

http://www.dol.gov/DOL/allcfr/esa/Ti...CFR825.114.htm