X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Church eliminating teaching position Oregon

Hello,

I have been teaching for a church/school for over 35 years and I was told today that my position is up in the air for the next school year. It comes down to myself or another coworker and they haven't decided which to eliminate yet because enrollment is down for next year and they can't afford both of us. Does anyone know if I am eligible for UI benefits? Are they allowed to force me into retirement? I turn 65 this summer but can not afford to retire for another year. I am quite concerned that I am being treated unfairly and targeted because of my age.

Please, any advice or references to outside websites regarding this issue will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

NOT my area of expertise, but I can give you a partial answer to one of your questions. Not all churchs are in the UI system, and different states could in theory have somewhat different rules. The fastest way to find out is to ask whoever does your payroll. If they have been including your name/SSN on their quarterly wage filings and paying SUTA/FUTA taxes on you, then you are potentially eligible for UI (if otherwise applicable). I have never had a reason to get expert on church related employment. I know that there is a church exception in the UI system, and I have heard that it became optional (as opposed to the previous "no participation"). But this is something that I really have never researched.

Your second question is an ADEA question (Age Discrimination in Employment Act), which is also not my area of expertise. If you read the following article, you will know more then I do on the subject. There are other responders who are more familiar with this law then I am.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Age_Dis...Employment_Act
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment