This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• over time for salary employees Oklahoma

i am a salary manager of my department over see one employee. i am required to work 95% of my time on the floor just like my one employee. doing the same job plus doing the required managment work. i am required to be on call 24-7 and work weekends. am i entitled to overtime pay. my pay is $ 2750 after taxes each month
    Last edited by ad tech rich; 08-03-2009, 08:20 AM. Reason: add on

You are probably non-exempt (due paid overtime), although technically you should list all of your job duties to be sure. Saying that you are "on the floor" is legally insufficent to determine an exempt classification.

There are a lot of possible Exempt classification. Saying that you only manage one person means that the Executive classification is not applicable. Working as inside sales means that Outside Sales is not applicable. The Administrative exception is not very likely but since we do not know your actual job dutes, we technically have not yet eliminated that one.

It would also be useful to know what you are selling. There are some industry specific exceptions (Auto Dealer for example).
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

ad tech rich

i am a maintenace manager for a manufactering plant .i have to repair machines and install machines for the plant. as well as keeping my one guy on task for the days production.

Comment

Sounds nonexempt to me.
        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

ad tech rich

what is the best way to bring this up to my employers with out them trying to fire me on the spot. and is there anything i can do if they fire me. who should i contac legally to make sure i am falling under non exempt.. thank you for all your advice

Comment