Employeer says he overpaid me, I disagree, we had no hiring agreement

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employeer says he overpaid me, I disagree, we had no hiring agreement

I've been working for my current employeer for 10 weeks. He just told me that they discovered that they have been overpaying at $40 an hour when they say it should have been $20 an hour. There was no hiring agreement and the compensation negotiations were frustratingly vague. I worked there without any agreement not sure what to expect on my first paycheck. When it came back at $40 an hour, I thought it was because they were please with my performance and decided to meet my salary requests (the range for people in my field in nyc is anywhere form $35 to $65 an hour. A salary of $45k is considered entry level and I've been working in this field for 20 years. They orginally offered $38K base with opportunity to earn up to $65k in bouses and I objected because the bonus criterea was incrediably vague "do a good job and don"t worry you will earn it" I expressed concern over this, asked to be and they said they'd "think about it"). They are withholding my current paycheck and want me to agree to have a certain amount withheld from each future paycheck.

I just want to be paid my last paycheck and quit because these people are incrediably unprofessional and the mismanagment is rampant and the turn over rate is extrememly high.

My questions is: since there was no hiring contract or salary agreement can they say I was over paid and owe them back money?

Complcating factor: When the first pay period came and I had no agreement or hiring contract I paniced and submitted a timesheet for hours worked. i came up with an arbitrary amount of $20 an hour because i just wanted to be paid something and I though i'd at least get that much from them. I never expect to continue working there. Im afraid that now that could be viewed as a "contract"