X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Freelancer Payment Issues. Please Help ASAP! New York

Hello Everyone,

Sorry if this is long, but I want to give the whole background...

I am a freelance graphic designer working in NYC. I was before the holiday season in the middle of December 2009 I started freelancing as a designer at a small studio. After the first weeks work I invoiced the employer for the hours. within about 2 weeks i received a check for my hours. after the holiday and in the new year this same employer asked me to come back to freelance for 2 weeks. Just as before after each week i sent him invoices for my services with P.O. numbers that were provided by them. After the 2 weeks they decided that my job was done there. (even though they were satisfied with everything) At this point i had not received any checks. After about 2 weeks from when I stopped working I followed up to see the state of the payments. The response was that he would be paying them 30 days from the date of the invoices (which would make it around the 15th of February) When it came to be that week I received an email telling me they were going to have to process me as an employee and that i would have to be registered into their payroll service and that all taxes were going to be taken out.

After a few back and forth arguments he stopped responding to me all together. The other day I got a check in the mail for only one of the invoices, and i was processed as an employee without any information from me (so all taxes were taken out)

I am at a lose on what to do... Is this legal for one...Also I do not work there anymore so how can they be claiming me as an employee? I did not receive any benefits then i was there... What should i do? He has already paid me as a freelancer in the past (which cancels his claim that he legally needs to pay me as an employee) I need the money..should I cash the check they sent in the meantime?

Please help!

thank you all very much