This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exempt non-exempt salaried employee question New York City

I am in a bit of a bind here and would love some help. Currently I'm am working out of NYC with a company and since I am new to the state I am looking to determine if this is legit.

Background information:

My pay scale is $600/wk + per deim @ $80/day (when not in NYC) and I work in a "creative industry" where I think it could be argued effectively that a portion of my work falls under the creative professional. The problem within this is that the remainder of my contract falls in a position that is expressly not creative and has a standard union in most states that have set a standard of pay in an hourly structure.

Normally this would not be an issue as I am above the cutoff ($536.xx in NY I think) for an exempt employee, but currently we are slated to work 7 days a week for a total average of roughly 60-70 hours. In addition to this the hours will on occasion break 90 (which it did in one week that I recorded).

Per this I have the following questions:
    1) Am I entitles to minimum wage pay per/NYC when working at a rate that would be below that.
    2) Is my employer or myself responsible for the tracking of hours
    3) Is there an upper limit on the amount of hours worked by an exempt employee or is this determined by the minimum wage?
    4) Does Manhattan (since this is where our office is located) have a higher minimum wage than that of New York state? Does this apply if I am working for the company, paid by the company in the State of NY by direct deposit, but working in a theater in Alabama for two days?

I appreciate the time and look forward to a reply,
    -DBC

Addendum: