This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exempt staff luch break New York

I am a professional in a hospital setting and am paid for 40 hours a week. The hours are 8:30 -5:00pm. Although I am told I have a 1/2 hour lunch I rarely sit uninterupted for lunch. I get paged, phone rings, knocks on the door. First of all is this legal? Would I be in my legal rights to turn off my pager during lunch for 1/2 hour since I am not paid for it. We are not allowed to come in late or leave early. I feel we are treated as hourly staff but without the benefit of any overtime. I live in NYS which I understand has very few laws protecting the employee.
    Justme1234
    100.00%
    PattyMD
    0.00%

The poll is expired.

If you are exempt, you are not legally entitled to any additional compensation whatsoever, no matter how many hours you work, on call, answering the pager, whatever. You can contact the state Dept. of Labor to inquire as to whether or not the meal period requirements apply to exempt employees, but they often do not.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Thank you. By compensation do you mean monetary only or "comp" time? Does anyone know if I would be in my legal rights to turn off my pager for my 1/2 hour unpaid lunch (I am exempt salary). I feel I am :1st not getting an uninterupted lunch and second the company is "squeezing" more time out of us than they are w illing to pay since the work week is 40 hours but without lunch it is really a 42 1/2 work week.

Comment

By compensated I mean anything over and above your regular salary, including pay and/or comp time.