X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can UNM Withholding my paycheck? New Mexico

Greetings,
    I am an employee at the (school, college level) in Albuquerque. I have recently submitted my resignation and am completing the Separation Check-Off List for Staff Employees. One of the signatures required to separate from the University is from the Bursar's Office.

Backstory: I graduated in 2002 from the (school) and owed approximately $1,000, which is more now due to interest that has accrued.

Can they withhold my paycheck because I owe this money? There is no specific policy for doing so; none in writing in their online policies and procedures manual at least.

Would they have to pay me at least minimum wage for the 80 hours I worked and keep the difference?

Shouldn't this be a separate matter that they handle through debt collection practices/efforts?

Thanks for your help!
    Last edited by konarider; 03-25-2008, 11:13 AM.

I know zip about your state's laws, but I can talk to federal law only. Under the very poorly written federal rules (29 CFR 531.xxx and the following factsheet) I could make a pretty good argument that the employer could consider this legally to be a "for the benefit of the employer" deduction, which means that you have to be paid MW and OT, but anything else goes.

However, state law is often more favorable to the employee then federal law on recoveries. Perhaps another responder knows your state's laws in this matter.

http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/compliance/whd/whdfs16.htm
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

Here's the state FAQ (#20)

Q. What can the employer deduct from wages?

A. No deduction can be made except appropriate state, federal and social security taxes without a written authorization from the employee or a court order. In all cases, the employee must receive the minimum wage.

http://www.dws.state.nm.us/dws-qlid.html