Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Nevada Rules To Be Observed By Employers Labor Law Poster

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Nevada Rules To Be Observed By Employers Labor Law Poster

    EVERY EMPLOYER SHALL POST AND KEEP CONSPICUOUSLY POSTED IN OR ABOUT THE PREMISES WHEREIN ANY EMPLOYEE IS EMPLOYED THIS ABSTRACT OF THE NEVADA WAGE AND HOUR LAWS (NRS 608)
    PLEASE NOTE: Every person, firm, association or corporation, or any agent, servant, employee or officer of any such firm, association or corporation, violating any of these provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor.

    The legislature hereby finds and declares that the health and welfare of workers and the employment of persons in private enterprises in this state are of concern to the state and the health and welfare of persons required to earn their livings by their own endeavors require certain safeguards as to hours of service, working conditions and compensation therefore.

    1.Discharge of employee: Immediate payment. Whenever an employer discharges an employee, the wages and compensation earned and unpaid at the time of such discharge shall become due and payable immediately.
    2.Quitting employee: Whenever an employee resigns or quits his employment, the wages and compensation earned and unpaid at the time of his resignation or quitting must be paid no later than the day on which he would have regularly been paid or 7 days after he resigns or quits, whichever is earlier.
    3.An employer shall not employ an employee for a continuous period of 8 hours without permitting the employee to have a meal period of at least one-half hour. No period of less than 30 minutes interrupts a continuous period of work.
    4.Every employer shall authorize and permit covered employees to take rest periods, which, insofar as practicable, shall be in the middle of each work period. The duration of the rest periods shall be based on the total hours worked daily at the rate of 10 minutes for each 4 hours or major fraction thereof. Authorized rest periods shall be counted as hours worked, for which there shall be no deduction from wages.
    5.The minimum wages which may be paid to employees 18 years of age or older in private employment with the state are as of:
    A. October 1, 1997, $5.15 per hour;
    B. Minors under the age of 18 years, $4.38 per hour
    6.A part of wages or compensation may, if mutually agree upon by an employee and employer in the contract of employment, consist of meals. In no case shall the value of the meals consumed by such employee be computed or valued at more than 35 cents for each breakfast actually consumed, 45 cents for each lunch actually consumed, and 70 cents for each dinner actually consumed.
    7.An employer shall pay time and one-half of an employee's regular wage rate whenever an employee works: (a) More than 40 hours in any scheduled workweek; or (b) More than 8 hours in any workday unless by mutual agreement the employee works a scheduled 10 hours per day for 4 calendar days within any scheduled workweek. This does not apply to: (a) Employees who are not covered by the minimum wage provisions of NRS 608.250; (b) Employees who receive compensation for employment at a rate not less than one and one half time the minimum rate provided by NRS 608.250; (c) Outside buyers; (d) Retail commission salespersons if their regular rate is more than one and one half the minimum wage, and more than one half their compensation comes from commissions; (e) Employees who are employed in bona fide executive, administrative or professional capacities; (f) Employees covered by collective bargaining agreements which provide otherwise for overtime; (g) Drivers, drivers' helpers, loaders and mechanics for motor carriers subject to the Motor Carrier Act of 1935, as amended; (h) Railroad employees; (i) Air carrier employees; (j) Drivers or drivers helpers making local deliveries and paid on a trip rate basis or other delivery payment plan; (k) Taxicab and limousine drivers; (l) Agricultural employees; (m) Employees of business enterprises having a gross sales volume of (1) Less than $250,000 per year; and (n) Any salesman or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles, trucks or farm equipment.
    8.Every employer shall establish and maintain records of wages for the benefit of his employees, showing for each pay period the following information for each employee: (a) Gross wage or salary; (b) Deductions; (c) Net cash wage or salary; (d) Total hours employed in the pay period by noting the number of hours per day; (e) Date of payment.
    9.Wages must be paid semimonthly or more often.
    10.Every employer shall establish and maintain regular paydays and shall post a notice setting forth those regular paydays in a conspicuous place. After an employer establishes regular paydays and the place of payment, the employer shall not change a regular payday or the place of payment unless, not fewer than 7 days before the change is made, the employer provides the employees affected by the change with written notice in a manner that is calculated to provide actual notice of the change to each such employee.
    11.It is unlawful for any person to: (a) Take all or part of any tips or gratuities bestowed upon his employees; (b) Apply as a credit toward the payment of the statutory minimum hourly wage any tips or gratuities bestowed upon his employees. Nothing contained in this section shall be construed to prevent such employees from entering into an agreement to divide such tips or gratuities among themselves.
    12.An employer may not require an employee to rebate, refund or return any part of his or her wage, salary or compensation. Also, an employer may not withhold or deduct any portion of such wages unless it is for the benefit of, and authorized by written order of the employee. Further, it is unlawful for any employer who has the legal authority to decrease the wage, salary or compensation of an employee to implement such a decrease unless:
    (a) Not less than 7 days before the employee performs any work at the decreased wage, salary or compensation, the employer provides the employee with written notice of the decrease; or
    (b) The employer complies with the requirements relating to the decrease that are imposed on the employer pursuant to the provisions of any collective bargaining agreement or any contract between the employer and the employee.
    13. An employee may, at any time within 2 years, bring a civil action for the recovery of difference between amount paid and the minimum wage set in this Act. No contract between employer and employee shall be a bar to the action.
    14. All uniforms or accessories distinctive as to style, color or material shall be furnished, without cost, to employees by their employer. If a uniform or accessory requires a special cleaning process, and cannot be easily laundered by an employee, such employee's employer shall clean such uniform or accessory without cost to such employee.

    For additional information or exceptions, contact the Nevada State Labor Commissioner: Carson City Rev. July 2003

    KENNY C. GUINN
    Governor
    State of Nevada

    TERRY JOHNSON
    Nevada Labor Commissioner

    SYDNEY WICKLIFFE
    Director
    Nevada Department of Business & Industry
Working...
X