This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using Tips To Pay For Temp Workers Nevada

I work in a restaurant where the tips are automatically added to the guest check. They are then collected by my employer, put into a common pool, divided and paid out evenly on a per hour basis on our paychecks.

For years, my employer commonly uses temp workers from (a temp agency) to help staff, especially during large parties or special events. My employer has cut back our staff considerably and has relied more and more on these temp workers, rather than hire more full time or part time employees.

The reason they do not hire additional workers is because they are fully paying the temp agency directly with our tips, deducting them from the tip pool. So, basically it is us workers who are paying for these temps and the employer gets "free" help, without having to pay wages, taxes and benefits.

My question is simple: Is this legal? Can they use our tips to pay for temp workers? What law would apply?

I have never heard of an employer doing this before.

Thanks in advance for you attention.
    Last edited by cbg; 12-01-2008, 04:22 PM.

http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs15.pdf

Service Charges: A compulsory charge for service, for example, 15 percent of the bill, is not a tip. Such charges are part of the employer's gross receipts. Where service charges are imposed and the employee receives no tips, the employer must pay the entire minimum wage and overtime required by the Act.
    "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
    Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

Thanks for the response, but I am not sure that what that has to do with what I am talking about. The 15% charge is a gratuity and is stated that way. It is also distributed that way.

My question is can the employer pay a temp agency out of that tip pool?
      Last edited by Jerry6656; 12-01-2008, 05:30 PM.

Comment