This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quit my job, what do I have to do to get unemployment? Nevada

Now I know from that title I just labeled myself with I've already put a bad taste in some readers mouth, but please try and hold judgment until you hear my whole story.
    STRESS! I just couldn't take it anymore. When I started my job as a runner/admin assistant a year and one month ago I was putting 200 miles a week on my car (annoying, but doable) and spending most of my time in the office working. But it got to the point where I was hardly ever in the office because I was putting 500 miles a week on my car. Driving in stop and go Vegas traffic all day. No admin work and no way to advance in the company from behind the wheel. I'm a good driver (I know who doesn't think they are) but I cant count the number of times I felt my life was in danger on Vegas roads. About a month ago the company laid off over half of the admin staff due to cut backs. Yet very little work that needed to be done was lost. Everyone was told they were going to have to pick up the slack and that was the final straw for me. I stuck I out as long as I could but seriously felt like I was going to loose it if I had to work overtime in the office and continue to do 500 miles a week in the heat wave about to hit us so I gave notice.

While I search for another job, (which shouldn't be hard to find here in Vegas) what do I have to do to get unemployment?

Go to the DOL and file or check and see if you can do so on line or over the phone. Voluntary resignation may disqualify you for benefits but you won't know for certain unless you file a claim. There is no fees involved in filing so even if you are denied the only investment you have is a bit of time.
    Information posted by me is my "OPINION". I do NOT give legal advice to anyone as like most here I am NOT an attorney.

Comment