X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• vacation pay question

Hi,

First of all, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Regina and I am an HR Manager for a large Landscaping company in Sparks, NV. I've been browsing the boards and have found some excellent information.

My company is planning on closing for the 2 weeks for the 2008 holidays for the first time. Before I finish the holiday schedule, I want to be sure we can legally even do this.

We employ both hourly and salaried staff. I know that the hourly staff is simply out of luck since they don't receive paid holidays or PTO.

As far as the salaried staff, we will be paid for the 4 days, 2 for Christmas and 2 for New Year's, from our 8 paid holiday days. For the other 6 days, they want us to use our PTO days.

Here are my questions...

1. If we don't have enough PTO to cover it, can our paychecks be docked for those 6 unpaid days? Let's assume that during the 2 weeks, we will NOT be working any hours.

2. As far as I go, I will end up working a day during one of the weeks doing payroll. Since I will have a day worked, will they have to pay me for the entire week, since I worked some time during the week?

Thanks for your help

Regina

Originally posted by repting View Post
    Hi,

First of all, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Regina and I am an HR Manager for a large Landscaping company in Sparks, NV. I've been browsing the boards and have found some excellent information.

My company is planning on closing for the 2 weeks for the 2008 holidays for the first time. Before I finish the holiday schedule, I want to be sure we can legally even do this.

We employ both hourly and salaried staff. I know that the hourly staff is simply out of luck since they don't receive paid holidays or PTO.

As far as the salaried staff, we will be paid for the 4 days, 2 for Christmas and 2 for New Year's, from our 8 paid holiday days. For the other 6 days, they want us to use our PTO days.