This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unemployment vs severance pay Nebraska Nebraska

I was laid off from my job on 2/8/08. My company paid me a lump sum payment of $13500 when I left the company. I was disqualified for Unemployment payments until May 17. All of my co-workers in other states (OH, VA, PA, etc) had this issue, but were able to resolve it when HR called and confirmed that severence was classed as our last day paid employment. I am getting no luck straightening this out here in Nebraska. Is the law different here? Should I appeal? Thanks!

It never hurts to appeal. You have nothingto lose.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

True, but I'd like to know what the law is regarding this situation here in Nebraska.
      Last edited by MissLori; 03-12-2008, 08:39 AM.

Comment

Obviously, Nebraska IS different. When it comes to UI eligibility, every state sets its own rules.
        https://uibenefits.nwd.ne.gov/BPSWeb...antWelcome.jsp
        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I have been to that site, but don't see anything that addresses specifically how that check was/should have been classified by HR. As I said, in other states HR was able to classify that lump sum severance as the last paycheck, and the employees that were originally denied UE until May (as I have been) had their decisions reversed and got checks. HR is still working on it supposedly, but I am posting to see if anyone knows if this will resolve it for me here in Nebraska? Thanks again.

Comment