On-Call Wage Minnesota

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• On-Call Wage Minnesota

Hi, I am a Police Officer in a small town and I was informed by another officer in a different small town that their city attorney is looking into on-call wage.

I get paid $1.75/hour for On-call and average 136 hours every pay period (bi-weekly). We definitely qualify for getting paid, that’s not my question. My question is should on-call wage be paid at minimum wage due to the nature of our work and the restrictions on responding to calls because we are stuck at our home waiting for a call to respond to? I understand that this on-call law is fairly vague and I wanted to attack this from another angle if their city attorney decides not to work so fast on this issue.

Thanks for any and all help!!
    Last edited by CrimLaw; 01-24-2013, 07:26 PM.

I'm not sure how you define "small" but here is the fact sheet appropriate to law enforcement. http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs8.pdf
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

What exactly do you mean by "stuck at home"? Do you mean that literally? You cannot physically leave your house?