This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mandatory lunch deduction Minnesota

I work as an HVAC service technician. My employer has recently dictated that a half hour lunch is mandatory for any shift over 8 hours. I understand that it is his right to do so but what he is also dictating is that 30 minutes is deducted from your pay regardless of whether the lunch was actually taken or not. My understanding is that while he can mandate the lunch be taken that the consequence for not taking the lunch can only be a disciplinary action not a pay deduction. I understand it that an employer must pay you for all hours worked. Am I correct?

That is correct. Have you asked what the procesd is for you to report when you were not able to take a full 30-minute lunch?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Agree that is correct but why are you not taking a lunch?
      Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. Leo Buscaglia

Live in peace with animals. Animals bring love to our hearts and warmth to our souls.

Comment