Part time emplyee Michigan

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Part time emplyee Michigan

I am a part time professional. I am responsible for the daily direction of several technicians, but they do not technically report to me, but to my supervisor. Right now we have some difficulties with one of our machines, leaving us only one of two to work with. This has caused work to be left for the next day on several occasions. Now my boss is saying that I have to stay past the time my shift ends to finish the work (without any extra pay) Can my employer require me to work over my weekly hours without pay? I am part time exempt, and they say, "you are salaried, you have to stay"

Unless they have a legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA that says expressly and in so many words that they are to work these hours and no others and that they cannot be required to work any other or additional hours, yes to at least the first part. As far as the law is concerned, any employee, be they full time, part time, hourly paid, salary paid, exempt, non-exempt, can legally be asked to work whatever hours the employer wishes. Nothing in any law, Federal or state in any state, says that the employee cannot be asked to work extra hours or stay past the end of their shift. There are limited, industry specific exceptions to this but they are primarily where there is a public safety factor (think long haul truckers, airline pilots, nurses) or for minors.