This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Docking my Pay in MA

I am a manager at a small company and my boss was going to send me to a conference. Flight and hotel reservations were made on the company credit card.

I became ill the morning of the flight and was unable to go. I was vomiting, and generally had some form of 24 hour stomach bug.

I went to my doctor and got a note that day that I brought to work the next day.

I even made an honest attempt to reschedule to flight for the next day, but that was impossible without a significant upcharge which the boss said he would not pay.

My boss then presented me with his credit card bill showing $152 for my flight reservation stating that the ticket is mine, I am free to do with it what I like and that he needs to be paid back for it.

Before I could do anything, my next paycheck came to me with the flight deducted from my pay.

Is this legal? Should I be required to pay for a company trip because I fell ill? Can he argue the financial loss is my fault and therefore I must pay for it?

Generally speaking, such deductions cannot be made from your pay without your written authorization. That's the chance the employer takes by purchasing a nonrefundable or nonchangeable (without a huge fee) ticket. You don't want the ticket; you should not have to pay for it. Here's the form from the Attorney General's office, which serves as the Dept. of Labor for Massachusetts, to file a claim for the improper deduction.
    http://www.ago.state.ma.us/sp.cfm?pageid=1129

And just so we get the terminology correct, they did not dock your pay, they took an unauthorized deduction. In legal terms, these are two different things.
    Last edited by Pattymd; 04-16-2006, 06:56 AM.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

I agree with Patty.