This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commissions due after leaving company in Massachusetts

Hello, I worked in sales for a magazine out of an office in Boston (company also has an office in FLA). The position had a base salary with commissions for sales produced. The commissions would only be paid when a client paid which was 30 Days after the magazine was published. If a client was sold on a 4 issue commitment (a quarterly magazine) in most cases the full value of the commission would not be paid for at least a year.

My question is if I left the company on my own volition and was not terminated, should I be paid on the commissions for sales made even though I was not an employee at the time the earnings from clients were received?

The company does not have any policy in writing, nor did I sign any type of contract. I was paid on a bi-weekly basis and as clients paid their invoices commissions would be paid along with the regular bi-weekly checks.

I appreciate any feedback, Thanks - Andy

As of the last time I dealt with commissioned sales in MA, the law was that you would be owed commission for any sales you COMPLETED, regardless of the date the client paid or whether you were an employee on the day commissions were generally paid. The company would have no obligation to you for any sales you may have begun, but were completed by someone else after you left.

Please note that the last time I dealt with commission sales in MA (or any other state, for that matter) was spring of 2000. It is not impossible that the law may have changed since then. Phil?
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment